Unity Township

Unity Township Municipal Building

The Unity Township Municipal Building is centrally located within the township along Beatty-County Road just off of Route 30.

The Township was formally incorporated on September 23, 1789 with initial records of settlement going back to 1760. Unity Township was formed from Mt. Pleasant Township, one of Westmoreland’s original municipalities. Today, Unity Township is a Second Class Township with an area of 69 sq. miles, a population of 22,607 and maintains approximately 140 miles of roads. Duties and responsibilities of the road crew include paving, winter maintenance, ditch cleaning, removal of fallen trees along with many other tasks.

Zoning was instituted in Unity Township on September 25, 1991. Building permits along with on-lot septic permit applications and recycling information can be obtained through the Code office.


Ed Poponick

Supervisor/Vice Chairman

Extension 4017

John F. Mylant


Extension 4015

Thomas S. Ulishney


Extension 4014

Municipal Officials & Employees

Gail Rause


Extension 4010

Harry Hosack

Residential Building Inspector, Zoning Officer

Extension 4016

Lorrie Shepler

Zoning/Planning Secretary

Extension 4011

Sharon Sweeney

Township Secretary

Extension 4018

Pete Tenerowicz

Emergency Management Coordinator

Extension 4022

Gail Rause

Building Department Secretary

Extension 4023

Merle Musick

Building Code Official/Planning Director

Extension 4024

Julieanne Zoppetti

Township Treasurer

Extension 4012

Steve Yanchik

Residential Building Inspector/Ordinance Officer

Extension 4025

Douglas Pike

UTMA Operations Manager

(724) 423-6888

Township Officials

Mark J. Burkardt

Tax Collector

(724) 539-8766



(724) 539-8562

Gary Falatovich


(724) 834-7080

Municipal Authority

Unity Township Municipal Authority has relocated. See their website at http://www.utmapa.org for contact and additional information.